Over the past couple of days, Julie and I have come to the realization that we will, in most likelihood, need to raise a hair over $27,000 by the middle of summer. On one hand, that looks impossible. And that starts to get me angry. I mean, we want to take a child out of a social welfare program and give him a good home. Part of me says that the other government should pay me to take him into our home. The cost looks too big, to enormous for us to accomplish.

On top of that, Julie said that with the recent changes in South Korean laws, the referral process is moving slowly. Families that started the process in December are just now hearing back that they are approved. That frustrates me. In my perfect world, this is a win / win: child needs a family and family wants a child. No fuss, no muss. Why does it have to be so difficult?

Yet, as I read Scripture, I see a God who is passionate about the widow and the orphan. I see a God who does the impossible without another thought. And I know that our God will provide for us through friends, family and complete strangers to give us the money. What God is doing is forcing us to completely trust Him. God is forcing us to our knees to see our need for Him to work in a big fashion in this case.

John Piper was asked once why we ask people to pray for something big. His answer surprised me. In essence, he said that the reason we ask people to pray is so that when God moves, there will be more people to sing His praises. So, I ask you to help us pray for the enormity of this in front of us. In particular, please pray:

  • That we would raise the $27,000. The good news is that we have a hair over $3,000 already so we are over 10% towards this goal!
  • That our background checks would come back soon to allow our home study have formal and final approval.
  • That the remaining approvals from the various governments would go quickly and we might be able to seek a formal referral soon.
  • That we would be able to travel to pick up our son before Christmas of this year.

This is, admittedly, a pretty aggressive schedule. But, as we trust God for the outcome, we know that there will be much rejoicing when He answers these prayers.

As always, if you want to help us financially, click on the link above, make a donation, buy some coffee or do some shopping at Amazon through the links on the left.

