This has been a super long week. Maybe because we had to leave for our Children’s Hospital appointments in Iowa City before the sun was up on Monday. Maybe because G needed blood drawn 3 different times this week for a total of 5 different pokes. (I lost count of how many little vials were filled somewhere after 12 or 13.) It could be just working to get into the school routine. (Although we’ve missed as many days for medical appointments as we have made this week.) There is also the driving to appointments, school pick ups, and the multitude of waiting rooms (today alone we were in 4 different waiting rooms!).

I’m not going to lie – it’s hard to have your child look at you and say “no” while pointing to his arm where they draw blood. (I think he can smell a lab room a mile away.) It’s even harder to hold them while they kick and cry. I think about the surgeries I missed before he was ours. Was there anyone to wait and hear how he was doing? Was someone able to sit with him in the hospital?

But yet, I am thankful.

I am thankful after this long journey, he is here – and is a part of our family. It’s only been 8 weeks, yet in some ways, it just seems like he’s always been here.

I am thankful that he had excellent medical treatment while in Holt’s care, and we have better medical records than many adoptive families.

I am thankful that we have access to great doctors, nurses, and lab techs. Being a pediatric lab tech must be a tough job.

I am thankful that even though there have been more pokes and Dr. appointments than expected (and looks like there will be a few more), so far everything has looked a bit better than expected.

I am thankful that we have not had to spend any nights in a hospital – everything has been outpatient. We are home every night.

I am thankful for all the friends, family, health care professionals and students that are interested in G, and our adoption journey.

I am thankful for frozen food and take and bake options. It’s been that kind of week.

I’m sorry to say there isn’t much for photos this week – however, I did get this photo of G today – while he was studying for one of his tests at the nephrologist.

10544396_10152333840631943_4927500838047203771_n

